App Review Sites Comparison Tool [UPDATED]

App Review Sites Comparison Tool [UPDATED]

With so may app review sites out there, it’s hard to know where to focus your energy as a developer looking for a review. You want the right mix of exposure, credibility and influence. But with no easy way to compare sites, how do you know what’s worth your time? Enter the App Review Sites Comparison Tool.

The App Review Sites Comparison Tool was born after I received numerous topic requests on the subject. Requests like: which iPhone app review sites are free, which sites have good Page Rank, etc. So, I did the research, organized it in a table and made it sortable and searchable to easily compare sites. Note: this table is a living document and will be updated over time. Please find directions below.

App Review Sites Comparison Tool

App SiteReview TypesAlexa RankKlout ScorePage RankFee
App SagaiPhone
iPad
183579-0Free
The App MagazineiPhone
iPad
Android
1183724-1Free*
148Apps.comiPhone
iPad
18725606Free
Android TappAndroid40308585Free*
AppAdviceiPhone
iPad
iPod
Mac
7640656Free
AppCraveriPhone
iPad
173171555Free*
AppoliciousiPhone
iPad
Android
52938546Free
AppSafariiPhone
iPad
iPod
Mac
173320504Free
App SpyiPhone
iPad
81571505Free
Droid LifeAndroid9228685Free
iGame Review HubiPhone
iPad
Mac
Android
Windows
PC
--0Free
Indie Game RevieweriPhone
iPad
Mac
Android
PC
Linux
Steam
123476493Free
iPhone AlleyiPhone
iPad
112388745-Free
iPhone App ReviewiPhone
iPad
999695-4Free
Life of AndroidAndroid326570-3Free
MacworldiPhone
iPad
Mac
3917777Free
MetacriticiPhone
iOS
Console
PC
Handheld
2064928Free
Talk AndroidAndroid15184635Free
TapscapeiPhone
iPad
Mac
Android
57495484Free*
The App Review ZoneiPhone
iPad
Android
461142462Free*
The iPhone App ReviewiPhone
iPad
iPod
Mac
157639464Free*
Touch ArcadeiPhone
iPad
iTouch
6917636Free

*Free reviews are available, however, there is usually a backlog. For a fee, you can guarantee your app’s review is published on time.

How to Use the Tool

The App Review Sites Comparison Tool is designed to find sites based desired characteristics: influence, iPhone app review sites vs. Android review sites, etc. To sort, click on table headers. To search, type terms into the search field. The following are definitions of searchable/sortable characteristics available:

  • Review Types: Are you looking for a few iPhone app review sites, or an Android review site? Search to find your desired device.
  • Alexa Rank: A site’s exposure, or traffic score, in relation to other sites. The lower the Alexa Rank the more traffic the site receives.
  • Klout Score: A site’s social influence on a scale from one to 100. The higher the score, the stronger the influence.
  • Page Rank: a site’s credibility, or importance, on a scale from zero to 10. The higher the Page Rank, the more importance the site is given by Google.
  • Fee: The dollar amount a site charges to review an app.

Note: if there are other iPhone app review sites you would like to see on this list, please add a comment. I will try to get all iPhone app review sites and other site requests added in a timely fashion.

Updates

  • Mar. 17, 2014: updated Alexa Rank, Klout Score and Google Page Rank of current review sites. Added 10 more review sites.

Emmy

Emmy Jonassen is a marketing pro who helps indie developers build adoring fanbases. Marketing people who love buzz words call this "lead generation."

46 Comments

Liz

about 4 years ago

Stupendous!!

Reply

John Thomas Games

about 4 years ago

Awesome, Thank you! That list will come in handy.

Reply

Emmy

about 4 years ago

Thank YOU! Glad you're finding some use for it.

Reply

jemchicomac

about 4 years ago

great! Probably would be nice to have at least one twitter account related to each site, or even better twitter addresses of some of the journalist under each site?

Reply

Emmy

about 4 years ago

This is a great idea. I have a couple of topic requests to get to beforehand, but I will add this to the list. Thank you for the suggestion.

Reply

Keram

about 4 years ago

IndieGameReviewer.com covers games for all tje platforms above and is polled in the iphonequalityindex and androidqualityindex. It is a Quantcast measured site and also a content provider at Raptr.com with an Alexa ranking around 315k. Reviews are free and based on available writers / time of year. Submissions are made via the contact page at the website. Unsolicited submissions are accepted.

Reply

Emmy

about 4 years ago

Thanks Keram. Just added you guys. Love that you do reviews of Steam.

Reply

Keram

about 4 years ago

IndieGameReviewer.com's Alexa ranking is actually 260K :)

Reply

Emmy

about 4 years ago

Hi Keram. Thanks for the comment. It's been a little while since I updated all the stats here. Just updated IndieGameReviewer.com's Alexa rank, as well as all the other review sites' ranks.

Reply

keram

about 2 years ago

Hi Emmy... IGR's current Klout score is 49 if you want to add it to your table. Thank you :) Ketam

Emmy

about 2 years ago

Updated :) Thanks for the comment.

Ch Zain Ishaq

about 12 months ago

Nice

Patrick

about 4 years ago

Hi Emmy! Thank you for making this comparison tool for app review sites. May I suggest another? Tapscape. It has a PageRank of 5 and ranked in the top 50,000 sites on Alexa. They offer iPhone, iPad and Android app reviews. Hoping for your kind consideration. Again, thank you!

Reply

Emmy

about 4 years ago

Hi there Patrick. Thanks for the comment and bringing Tapscape to my attention. I just added it to the App Review Sites Comparison Tool.

Reply

Donna

about 4 years ago

One of the best sites I have found for finding the best apps is http://TheAppMagazine.com - They take free app review requests and also have featured app advertising for only $20. Being an app developer this is some of the best advertising I have been able to find. I thought it might be worth adding to the list.

Reply

Emmy

about 4 years ago

Thanks Donna. Just added this one to the list. $20 is pretty cheap as far as advertising goes. I have to say, this site is pretty hard to navigate. It doesn't seem like you can sort by type of app, etc. However, it also seems like it's a fairly young site given it's Alexa, Page Rank, etc., so I'm thinking we might see some improvements.

Reply

roberto

about 3 years ago

Thanks good list.. A new Library based app review site is live now. The site is The Free App Library http://FreeAppRary.com and the idea beyond it is to make a database of available apps according to the store. So developers can submit the app for listing in database for free. Also, there are options for a featured review or summary reviews. The Library covers, IPhone, Ipad, Android, and Windows Phone.

Reply

Emmy

about 3 years ago

Hi Roberto. Thanks for letting me and my followers know about this. Looks like a pretty good resource :) Take care.

Reply

Jeff

about 3 years ago

Let's not forget GiveMeApps.com There's also reviewers on Fiverr.com that have their own review channels on YouTube Such as http://fiverr.com/givemeapps/tweet-and-post-your-ad-site-or-link-to-our-app-stores-33000-twitter-followers-and-3000-facebook-fans-twice or http://fiverr.com/kidguru/make-a-video-review-of-your-ios-app

Reply

Emmy

about 3 years ago

Great. Thanks for the tips.

Reply

Gwendolyn

about 3 years ago

With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of exclusive content I've either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen? I'd genuinely appreciate it. Here is my site: page (Gwendolyn)

Reply

Emmy

about 3 years ago

Hello Gwendolyn, It's very hard to prevent plagiarism. Because of that, the only thing you can really do is protect yourself in the event that it happens to ensure the plagiarizing party and NOT you is at fault. And the best way to protect yourself is by registering with the U.S. copyright office and making sure that you add copyright notices to your blogs, i.e., reminding visitors and readers that your content is protected. Hope that helps, Emmy

Reply

Jan Tichy

about 3 years ago

Hello Emmy, I've created a new concept of app review sites. The idea is, that every developer will get a review of his app for free, but he must write a review of another app himself. I've created a site for these review exchanges: http://www.appdorado.com/submit-app-for-review/ Everyone is invited to submit their apps, write and get reviews.

Reply

Emmy

about 3 years ago

Hi Jan, thanks for letting the community know.

Reply

John McNamara

about 3 years ago

I know it's old but it's a good post and good resource when looking for app review sites. Since you compare them using Alexa ranking as one of the indicators. I would like to throw my hat in the ring. I run an app review site and last I checked my Alexa ranking was 412,053. Can I get my site's web address on the list? Or possibly on a list in future updated list possibly? We offer free reviews on a first-come/first-serve basis as well as expedited reviews for a fee. Thanks, John theappreviewzone

Reply

Emmy

about 2 years ago

Hi John, thanks for reaching out and letting me know about your site's ranking. I just added it to the list :)

Reply

Souad

about 2 years ago

Thank you Emmy for making our Indie life easier!

Reply

Rossana

about 2 years ago

A very useful tool! Well done!

Reply

PAUL

about 2 years ago

Wow the picture is coming much clearer to me in the world of APPS

Reply

Emmy

about 2 years ago

Hi Paul! Glad I could help :)

Reply

Bobby

about 2 years ago

This is a great list! I'll definitely be using it when I release my next game (hopefully soon).

Reply

M.S. Babaei

about 2 years ago

Thank you so much, It's been a while that I've been looking for such a list.

Reply

apk games

about 2 years ago

You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Reply

Dan Fisher

about 2 years ago

Hey Emmy, Super useful list, thanks! As I worked my way through submitting to each of these, however, I noticed that Fresh Apps now charges for reviews. As an indie, I am still only in a position to be chasing the free reviews! http://www.freshapps.com/want-your-iphone-app-reviewed/ D

Reply

Emmy

about 2 years ago

Hi Dan, thank you for the comment. I have gone ahead and edited the Fresh Apps row in my tool to reflect this update. Thanks for letting me know and good luck with your indie projects!

Reply

Nick

about 2 years ago

FYI there is a service called iSpreadNews - they can send announcement of your app to editors of 940+ app review sites. Half of those sites are sites that post app reviews in English, the rest post app reviews in other languages (e.g. major German, Italian, Russian, Spanish etc sites). Their prices are very cheap, but they save you 2-3 weeks of hassle!

Reply

Mert

about 2 years ago

Hey, I just wanted to inform you; The App Review Zone is no longer writing reviews for apps.

Reply

Emmy

about 2 years ago

Hi there. It looks like they're still offering free reviews, but are putting emphasis on sponsored reviews. See this: http://www.theappreviewzone.com/sponsored-app-reviews/.

Reply

penulis

about 2 years ago

thanks for share!!

Reply

Ciri

about 2 years ago

Came across comboappstore.com/app-stories. This is a free app review/app analysis website. Did anybody try it? Reviews come out every couple of days and they review indie apps.

Reply

Resep Masakan Indonesia

about 2 years ago

thanks a lot emmy, I need these review.

Reply

Craig

about 2 years ago

Here's another one that accepts ios submissions: http://www.appsubmission.com/contact/

Reply

website cost

about 2 years ago

Hi, I wish for to subscribe for this website to obtain most up-to-date updates, therefore where can i do it please assist.

Reply

Emmy

about 2 years ago

Hi there. In the right-hand column of my site, under my social media icons, you will see a section called "Blog Updates." Simply enter your email there and click subscribe, then you're good to go.

Reply

Leave a Comment

Please be polite. We appreciate that.
Your email address will not be published and required fields are marked